Reading Status for 02 May 2013

5 responses

  1. To the good woman, I must ask how long you’ve been in the dating pool 😉 Nah, I’m just bitter. I can nearly relate to their plight. I’m not very far in, but it’s definitely an incredible inspiration. I really need to read Salvatore.

    1. It is true of both sexes; the best get snapped up quickly =)

      Salvatore is amazing with his mix of detail and action. It is his work that is focusing me on keeping the ‘Big Project’ to 400 pages a book, as he proves an epic story can be fully told in that page frame. I shall be quite sad once I complete the ‘Legend of Drizzt’, but thankfully there are plenty more series by R.A.

      The two days until my internet quota refresh is torture. ‘Lord Ariden and Lady Laurin’ and ‘The Shimmering Mirror’ beckon =)

  2. More than thirteen books in the Drizzt series, eh? He cranks another one out every year around October. I actually stopped reading them a few years back. The Ghost King, I think was the last one I read. I love Cadderly, so I thought it was a fine place to stop. I am certain that I will pick them back up when I get to a place where I am happy with my own stories. Salvatore writing made me learn to appreciate the seemingly minor characters. Everyone has a personality and a story. I tried to carry that over in my own writing.

    1. Drizzt is in other books, but the books are not part of the ‘Legend of Drizzt’ series. Hooray for muddied waters!

      There was a 14th book in the series, which followed Artemis Entreri and Jarlaxle, two high-profile enemies of Drizzt. They extracted it from the series to make a separate series entitled ‘The Sellswords’.

      If it is not an intrusion, may I email you a writing-related question? It derives from your ‘pick them back up’ line.

      1. Yeah, no sweat! You can mail me at mail@oliveloft.com

Leave a Reply

