Fellow aspiring writers for 07 May 2013

Searching the ‘Fantasy Fiction’ section of WordPress (in between my mobile broadband disconnecting every 10 seconds), I showed up a few times if you scrolled down far enough.  If someone is really bored, they may stumble across my posts.  Unfortunately, there was not much on offer.

The one thing I always wonder about is the idea of networking.  To get people to know of you and your work, do everything you can to get your name out there.  Read the work of others, comment in a constructive and engaging way, and post regularly.  Build those relationships, and hope that others linked to those you’ve networked with come to investigate it.

Supposedly there is a number of friends one can actively maintain at an acceptable level.  An anthropologist named Robin Dunbar came up with a number of ‘between 100 and 230’.  I would love to know who would be able to maintain such numbers, as I struggle to catch up regularly with even my closest friends…

I digress; back to the topic.  I went back to those aspiring writers who I have mentioned in previous posts, as I have fallen behind a fair bit with reading their work.  Naughty!

I picked the author that came to mind the quickest.

– Tu –

Anneque Malchien (due to living on the same continent as me) and the Interdimensional Detective Agency

Back in ‘Bizarro Chicago’, we learn more of a mysterious person that Henry, our main character, had an unexpected interaction with.  The title of the story comes into play, with the man enlisting Henry to help with apprehending a criminal, in exchange for helping Henry figure out how he has got to this alternate version of the Second City.

Without spoiling too much, they find the criminal and realise they have quite the fight on their hands if they hope to apprehend this criminal.

– Tu –

One response

  1. I did have a comment, about the invisibility of people on social network sites who neither create nor post feedback, and who represent the vast majority of hits. Also about how important it is to receive feedback, and how social networking and providing feedback is such a vital part of creating an impact.

    Uh but WordPress crashed when I hit send, so maybe it was too much. 🙂 I’m very much agreed that social networking is the fastest way to forget you have friends. Great way to make more, but difficult to keep tabs on everyone.

    On that note, and thank you for the plug (I’d like to return that favour, by the way), seeing you are an antipodean such as myself, will you be attending Sydney Supanova this year?

Leave a Reply

