Mix-It-Up Day: Research and catch-ups!

My apologies for the later posting of the newest scene of OVCC#9, which was meant to be up last night.  My wife and I had a catch-up with friends we haven’t seen for a few months.  I suggested a Persian restaurant I happened to see near my work, and had heard of from a friend at a previous job.

The food was good, the company was great as always, but the dining experience was… weird.  It seemed the one lady had been tasked with looking after the customers, which got to around 30 people.  The one lady was running about looking after the till, delivering the meals to the tables, and taking orders.  Another lady had been there helping her, but seemingly disappeared early on.  Everything felt rushed, and I missed out on the dessert I was hanging out, a sweet noodle concoction called faloudeh.  Oh well…

– Su –

I had proposed this restaurant because it is Persian, and that culture has a strong influence on my ‘Big Project’.

The First Persian Empire was founded in 550BC by Cyrus the Great.  He overthrew the Median Empire, who had ruled the areas of modern Iran, and parts of Iraq, Turkey, Pakistan, Afghanistan and Turkmenistan.  The Empire was also known as the Achaemenid Empire, after King Achaemenes who had ruled Persia from 705BC to 675BC.  The Empire expanded past the boundaries of the Median Empire, reaching as far as Egypt and taking over most Central Asia.

Cyrus is remembered favourably in history, not only in academic circles but in religious texts.  In the Old Testament, he ended the Jewish exile by allowing Babylonian captives to return to their homes.  Furthermore, he ordered the rebuilding of the Jerusalem Temple.  He is known for respecting the religions and customs of those he conquered, and managing a successful central government that sought empowerment and enriching of its subjects.

– Su –

The main character of my ‘Big Project’ is, in a manner of speaking, a princess.  The only daughter of the rulers of the Serving Family of Justice, she is the jewel of her father’s eye.  He is fiercely protective of her for a reason to be divulged later in the series.

She is a strong-willed and focused person, knowing what she wants and always finding a way to get it.  One of the things she desires is a stronger country that flexes its muscles against its known oppressors.  This is influenced by her best friend, who has a somewhat tragic history due to conflicts with one of the oppressors.

– Su –

Who is your favourite heroine?  Any medium is allowed.  One of mine is Samus Aran, the bounty hunter in the Metroid games series made by Nintendo.

6 responses

  1. I believe Samus Aran is my favorite heroine, too. She’s one tough lady. I had a few dreams in the past where I was Samus. They were fun dreams because I got to be much cooler than I am in real life. She’s also one of my two favorite characters to play as in “Super Smash Bros.”.

  2. Interesting, I don’t envy the poor waitress. My heroine/ girl crush for a long time has been Dana Scully/ Gillian Anderson. Red hair, blue blood, and very clever. Yuko Ichihara from xxxHolic and the whole CLAMP manga-ka team fit in there somewhere too, even without the red hair.
    When Samus is hot, she’s hot.

    1. Neither did I. In her shoes, I would have just walked out. Thinking of popping by during lunch tomorrow to get a faloudeh, the dessert we didn’t get. Hopefully it’s better than the doogh.

      Yeah, I didn’t mind Scully. My parents did not want my brother and I watching ‘X-Files’, so did not see too much of her.

      The art styles are awesome in manga. There was a game on the Wii called ‘Muramasa: The Demon Blade’ that has an awesome hand-drawn art style. Plenty of pics on Google Images for it.

  3. Dear DJ, I just wrote a post today on my most recent favorite heroine, and while not a blood-and-guts-run-you-through-with-a-blade sort of heroine, I like her because she’s tough in a different way, sort of psychologically. I just got finished reading Isabel Allende’s “Eva Luna,” and Eva is a storyteller extraordinaire who props both herself and others up emotionally by telling stories. I would like to see a storyteller figure who is like her, also a main character with actions to perform, in some fantasy novels or stories. Any suggestions?

    1. Thank you for mentioning Eva. It is very important to show that mental strength is every bit as important as physical strength, and that ladies are well recognised for their ability to bend others to their will. Despite its usually derogatory recognition, such a thing is essential for women when they find themselves in less-than-ideal situations.

      Your post noted a close match in Shahzerade, whose stories I have just read in ‘Arabian Nights’.

      There is a young adult book trilogy entitled ‘The Inkheart Trilogy’, where a daughter and her father share the ability to bring story worlds to life via reading the story out loud.

      A video game equivalent is in the ‘Myst’ series. Atrus creates world via his writing, including Myst itself. It is a fantastic series, and many game developers note it as an inspiration =)

      1. Hi, DJ. Though I don’t do much video gaming stuff, I can see myself at some point reading “The Inkheart Trilogy,” which I think I can borrow from my 10-year-old nephew (but I can’t do it until I read a previous assignment from him. He doesn’t like for me to worry and warn him about stuff and caution him and tell him what to do, and so right now he has loaned me the 3rd volume of “A Series of Unfortunate Events”–“The Wide Window”–in which Aunt Josephine appears, because he says I’m like her, and he wants me to see myself as he does. It’s all in good fun, but I may get to babysit him this summer some, and if so I’ll get him to read to me “The Inkheart Trilogy” directly. I think it would be good practice for him, and we all like to read to each other.)

Leave a Reply

