Pastiche… sounds delicious!

What is a pastiche, do you ask?

According to Dictionary.com, it is:

1.  a literary, musical, or artistic piece consisting wholly or chiefly of motifs or techniques borrowed from one or more sources.
2.  an incongruous combination of materials, forms, motifs, etc., taken from different sources; hodgepodge.
Ask most writers who their favourite writers are, and they will readily name one or two.  We come across many in our reading, and in subtle ways each author leaves an impression.  And the inspiration rarely is contained in books, as it can reach you from any angle as long as you are aware.
I didn’t like that, so I shall not use it in my style.
That was awesome!  I will need to find my own form of it.
What is it that makes me unable to put this book down?
That scene in a movie is exactly what I want to have in my story!
– Mo –
Is there something that never fails to inspire you?
Is there an author whose style of writing you hope to imitate or pay homage to?
– Mo –
So many awesome words to define this merging of styles, whether refined or chaotic.  Pastiche, hodgepodge, farrago…
Farrago would be a great name for an unwitting anti-hero on his journey of discovery towards becoming a true hero!  This may need some investigation!
11 responses

  1. The only problem I would have with “Farrago” would be that I would always think of Fargo from the television series “Eureka”. I guess he is kind of an anti-hero. Anyway … nice little piece. It made me smile.

    1. Thanks for dropping by, J =)

      Glad you enjoyed it. I looked up ‘Eureka’, as I hadn’t heard of it before. It sounds like an interesting series.

      Personnel file notes 38 instances of ‘inappropriately pushed buttons’… haha, poor Fargo!

  2. I have lots of writers that make me want to achieve the same level of quality, or make me want to inspire certain feelings in others like they did for me. I think you’re right, I think everything you read, good or bad, you take something from. Robin Hobb I’d say is the main one for me, but also the lesser known Lisa A. Barnett and Melissa Scott who co-wrote the Astriant novels. They are rare gems I stumbled across by accident and they still do things to me when i read them even now. I hope one day my writing can have the same effect, but in a way that is entirely me.

    1. It’s a shame to read that LAB died of multiple cancers in 2006. A third Astreiant novel came out on 2012, so it is good to see the series continued.

      The ‘Solider Son’ series is six books further down my reading list. It will be interesting to see how Robin works in a non-Six Duchies/Rain Wilds world, as I remember you mentioning it being very different.

      Practice makes perfect, so keep on writing and finding areas for self-improvement =)

      1. It’s a very sad story indeed. They were partners and wrote Point of Hopes and Point of Dreams together then Barnett passed away and nothing more came of the series until Scott produced a novella last year. I was so excited and happy to discover it. It was an undeniably different flavour however, which is understandable. I still prefer the first two and they remain some of my favourite books of all time.

        Indeed, I couldn’t get into soldier’s son, but maybe I was expecting more Farseer and should try them again for what they are. Let me know what you think of them.

        And yes, never stopping writing is the key. If you never stop you can’t help but get somewhere 🙂

      2. Yes, the highs and lows of collaborative works, especially when two authors are so closely knit =(

        I shall do. About to finish ‘Journey to the West’, and then to Legend of Drizzt Book 11, ‘The Silent Blade’.

        If you write yourself into a hole, keep writing and you might find a diamond (or a dwarf) =P

  3. Also, you are quite correct, it does sound delicious as it sounds like a cross between a pasty and a quiche 🙂

    1. Absolutely. It should be attempted on ‘Masterchef’ at their earliest convenience. Macaroon towers have been done enough =)

Leave a Reply

