Mix-It-Up Day: Collaboration via Writer’s Relay or Writer Challenge

How many of you have participated in a Writer’s Relay or Writing Challenge?

Shadow Operator and I participated in the former. We posted a handful of entries back in October of 2012, with the result to be found here. Mixing in some romance aspects with science fiction, it unfortunately tapered off due to ‘Mune and Mura’ getting stuck in my head and becoming my November 2012 writing exercise.

In terms of Writing Challenges, you must check out Tobias Mastgrave’s site, The Art of Writing. Providing over three HUNDRED different writing challenges, it is extremely likely you will find one that both tickles your fancy and gets your neurons firing.  Open up the Plot, Scene or Story Challenge and take your pick =)

Another Writing Challenge was provided via The Writer’s Bar, providing a picture for one to base an opening scene on.

– Su –

Samsara, the surname of the fellow in my collaboration with Shadow Operator, is ‘the repeating cycle of birth, life, death and rebirth (reincarnation) within Hinduism, Buddhism, Bön, Jainism, and Yoga’.  The breaking of this cycle is known by many names, the most common being the Buddhist term Nirvana.  The Hindu name for breaking the cycle of rebirth is Moksha.

Joseph Samsara’s nemesis having Moksha as part of their name…  The relay story may have to be re-energised =)

How many of you would be interested in collaborations or relay challenges?

– Su –

Someone must have read my mind!  After writing the above post yesterday, an email was received asking if I was interested in taking part in a collaborative fantasy writing project.  A pair of draft worlds and a basic premise has been sent out, and hopefully the feedback will be good =)

3 responses

  1. Thanks for the pingback, DJ. Though I thought more people would join in, it was fun even as a two-handed effort. We play a game at Christmas every year with the whole family, called “Pass a Story,” a form of writing challenge, in which each person in the circle starts a story and then at the end of two minutes passes it to the next person without comment, who writes some and then passes it on, etc. At the end of about 10 times around, we each read one story aloud and laugh ourselves silly at the non sequiturs and foolishness. We think it’s good for the kids to be exposed to the story challenge young, and we all love the game.

  2. Hey DJ … I’d be interested in a relay, but it depends on how fast the turns come back to me. I have my hands full with two writing projects … my serial blog and my serial book … so much more than once or twice a week would stretch me.

    1. Greetings J. Like you, I have other pressing engagements in work study, family life and NaNoWriMo prep, so once a week would be amenable for me also. Maybe pick an alternate day per week for each of us to post?

      I hope your two projects are progressing well… And I must remember to catch up on ‘Day 2’ =)

Leave a Reply

