Reading Status for 26 September 2013

155 POST ONE HUNDRED AND FIFTY FIVE Reading Status

At 53 days, ‘A Memory of Light’ was my longest read of the year.  That length of time was due to demotivation, which led to my driving to work instead of catching the train, which meant no reading time.  Naughty!

I am now equal with my personal best for books read in a year.  Finishing the next book will make it 26, and a new record =D

– Th –

The cogs are beginning to whir again.  Investigating opium for yesterday’s Scene Challenge led me to reading about the East India Company, and more specifically the power it came to wield in its target geographical area.  Two men are prominently linked to the era, and one man is a sturdy link between them.  A historical fiction based in 1700’s India, with plenty of wars, and colourful characters from all sides of the argument?  Sounds like the ideal setup for a story!

8 responses

  1. Heya! Sorry I disappeared. I drowned in the sea of the internet and was marooned on the distant island known as The Editing. Great to see your blog is doing so well!

    1. Glad that you made it back. I hope everything went well on The Editing =)

      1. 😀 It went swimmingly. I’m glad not to have to work any more 20 hour days. That shiz was awful.
        How have you been?

      2. 20 hour days? That’s insane, and likely breaks some labour law.

        Not so good. Bit of grief in the real world, and its shutting down my motivation to write. Time to reconsider things =\

      3. Oh really? I’m sorry to hear that. Sometimes you need to have a break. But I enjoy your writing, I’ll be sad to see an end to it. Anything I can do to help?

      4. It’s mainly lack of self-belief, which has taken a pretty savage beating the past few months.

        Found that there’s a writer’s retreat near my place, and they do Friday arvo marathon writing sessions. Need to find a new job that allows 9 day fortnights =)

      5. Oh no. 😦 Don’t give up!

        The retreat sounds pretty cool. Being around other writers is a really awesome experience, too. Everyone is always really weird and eclectic and happy to see you. If you wrangled it right, you could get an easy government job with RDOs every second Friday.

Leave a Reply

