Happy 2014, folks!

In my neck of the woods, it’s almost midday on the first day of the new year.  Soon, every part of the world will be entering 2014.

Congrats on surviving the last year!

Firstly, I would like to thank everyone who has checked out my blog over the past year.  I have to apologise for essentially going AWOL since September 2013, posting sporadically when it should have been daily.  That you have still checked in from time to time is greatly appreciated, and inspires me to reward your faith in a much better way.

The writing stakes saw one sci-fi story completed, and one fantasy fiction started.  The latter is ongoing.

I finished reading 32 books last year.  Seventeen were Fantasy, twelve were Historical Fiction, one was science fiction, and two were other genres.

Well, let’s head back 365 days and see how last year’s resolutions fared!

1)  Get a job.

Had one, but resigned after my all-round self-confidence reached an all-time low.  So, back on the list for 2014.

2)  Get a gym membership.

Did not get one, as it always depends on time and money.  Found a good year-long deal locally that can be reached on the bus route home, so it is back on the list also.

3)  Find a new genre to read, as Fantasy has dominated my booklist for the last three years.  Thinking about finding some new Science Fiction authors, or building up the History (Fiction and Non-Fiction) section.

It ended up being historical fiction, with the main contributor being Conn Iggulden with his ‘Khan’ series.  My year in Historical Fiction reading looks to be filled with Patrick O’Brian and the adventures of Jack Aubrey and Stephen Maturin.

Looking at my writings, there has not been a large gap between my historical fiction and fantasy fiction.  ‘Mune and ‘Mura’ was a fantasy tale set in late-1500 AD Japan, while ‘Sayeh and Zia’ is a fantasy tale in 400 AD Middle East.  May have to adjust my writing genres to Science Fiction and Historical Fantasy Fiction.

4)  Apply some discipline and focus in writing 1000 words a day.

This I kept to for two thirds of the year, until the self-confidence dwindled away almost completely.  It’s a poor excuse, and one I will endeavour to correct this year.

5)  Finish at least one short story in each of my three genres:  Science Fiction, Historical Fiction, and Fantasy.

SCI-FI:  I got 96.4% of the way there with ‘On Venusian Cloud Colony Number Nine’, not being able to complete one scene in which a hard-to-research Aboriginal ceremony was required.

HI-FI:  This story was planned for NaNoWriMo 2013, being based in late-1200’s Persia.  It never reached fruition, but the intent remains to complete it.  As mentioned, involving a sacred magic pushes it towards Historical Fantasy Fiction.

FANTASY:  Wow!  ‘Sayeh and Zia’ got started all the way back in February!  There’s one goal to achieve…

6)  Have a first draft of ‘Path of Prophecy’ completed.  Even if it’s sandpaper rough, it will be done!

This was optimistic indeed, as I got nowhere near completing it.  A few draft scenes that occurred before the main story, but are EXTREMELY important to it, were completed.  This resolution needs a realism revamp.

Therefore, the resolutions for 2014 are:

1)  Get a job.

2)  Get a gym membership.

3)  Finish ‘Sayeh and Zia’ by its first birthday (19th Feb 2014).

4)  Make significant inroads into ‘Path of Prophecy’.

5)  Complete at least new one short story in Science Fiction and Historical Fantasy Fiction.

I have a SF story started, based in 1960’s Wyoming.  Still working on the first scene, the research of which has helped me gain a basic understanding of how American Football works.  The HFSF story will likely be my planned NaNoWriMo 2013 story.  From there, it’s where the Muse guides me.

6)  Greater focus on Asamai, my part of the world in the Lands of Unitus.

Christine, Cody, Len and Paul have all done some amazing work so far; please check them out to see what you’ve been missing =)

6)  Compete in NaNoWriMo 2014.

7)  Join a sports team.

8)  Read 30 books.

Good luck with your resolutions!  What have you got planned, writing and in the wider world?

8 responses

  1. Best of luck with your resolutions! I printed mine out this year and put them in a place where I will see them every single day–near my reference bookshelf!

  2. Hey, there, DJ! I see you’ve changed your site some. Very spiffy! I’ve long been out of the habit of making New Year’s resolutions, because of all the people I hate disappointing, I selfishly hate disappointing myself most. But I am going to TRY to finish the novel I’m been working on since before fall of 2012, because it’s really getting to me that it’s still uncompleted. You can’t, however, mustn’t, call that a resolution! Have a great New Year!

    1. Cheers Doc. Glad you like the revamp. Did it primarily to show off the ‘Goodreads’ app.

      Yes, not meeting your targets can be demotivational. As long as you make an honest attempt, that is all that matters.

      All the best for 2014, and I look forward to your engaging and enlightening posts =)

  3. If you find a job let me know for I am back in that market now also. I may just concentrate on becoming a real human being.

  4. What kind of sports are you looking to play? I play softball, and really love it. Thanks for the shout out on Unitus. I am back in the game.

    1. The precursor to American Football, Rugby Union. Played it all through high school, so I won’t be completely hopeless when I start playing again =P

      Looking forward to your forthcoming work =)

  5. […] let’s look at last year’s resolutions and see how I […]

Leave a Reply

