Fellow Writers for 14 March 2014

Naughty me!  I didn’t post my usual reading status last night because I’ve fallen behind my schedule to get through ‘The Mauritius Command’.  Not sure what happened; the beginning was different to the first two novels and it was great, but once the seafaring hit it got bogged down.  I have one more of the series in my bookshelf, and thought it is likely blasphemy, if I get bogged in it as well I will call defeat on the series.  It would be the second series I have ever opted out of, after R. Scott Bakker’s ‘The Prince of Nothing’ series.

Also naughty was not posting a FAW post since this time last month.  To be honest, I have not been searching.  There is no excuse for it, and I hope to get back into the swing of it soon.  But, thanks to the wonder of Twitter, many authors have opted to follow me.  Though my 37 followers is a rather low number (last person to follow me had just under 4,300 followers), there is plenty of time to build up that number *touch wood*.

So, below are some Twitter accounts and websites to check out if you have not done so already:

Adam Santo (@AdamSanto, http://www.adamsanto.com/index.html):  The man is a retweeting machine!  And he does very well in finding quality people, as I have investigated and followed a handful of those has RT’d.  He is a SciFi/Fantasy author, and has published the two books in his ‘Temperature’ series.  Great work!

Christine (@BetterNovelProjhttp://www.betternovelproject.com/): In her own words, Christine has studied creative writing at The John Hopkins University, but her true joy was found in Law School of all places.  The love of researching and outlines is now being channeled into critically assessing the ‘hooks’ of the recent bestsellers, in order to give her own story the best chance of success.  Good luck Christine, and be sure to share your findings!

Pat Simpson (@wheelbooks, http://www.booksbypatricksimpson.com/):  The award-winning author of ‘Whither Thou Goest’, his 2004 novel revolving around late 1800’s America, using the past and modern-day parallel storylines that “Assassin’s Creed” has used to great effect since 2008.  As well as writing, he volunteers as an assistant to his local school for children with special needs.

Crystal King (@crystallyn, http://crystalking.com/): This amazingly accomplished lady, having taught at two universities, one college, one school and one writer’s club, is mixing her passions for cooking and writing, writing historical fictions based around famous ancient cooks.  Stories that will make you drool! =)

– Fr –

Success!  I have my full story outline for my current Asamai story at Lands of Unitus…  and the seeds for the second!  As the stories are currently 3 scenes long per chapter, the word count target (90 pages, 22500 words) is lower than my other works.

Did a calculation, and the page count of all my novellas is currently 464 (word count 116,059).  Keep a reasonable pace, and it will be 500 in no time!  That may be cause for a celebratory round of that Johnnie Walker Blue Label gathering dust in the cupboard =D

Have a good weekend folks, and be sure to check back tomorrow for the newest installment of “True Love’s Last Kiss”.

Leave a Reply

