Oh, you fickle Muse!

Greetings everyone.  I hope your weekends are allowing you plenty of rest, relaxation and family time.

Whichever Muse has been assigned to keep an eye on me, they seem to have an attention deficit issue.

It was a warm Summer’s evening, back on the 18th of February 2013.  A pair of days before, I had posted the ninth entry of ‘On Venusian Cloud Colony Number Nine’.  The next day, I was to start a new job.  But it was not these that were keeping me awake at night.

It was the visual of a heavily pregnant lady stumbling into a caravanserai in the middle of a raging sandstorm.  From there, a story just kept being built on.  Despite going to bed early to ensure I woke up on time the next day, the story was still assembling near 1AM.

Despite being a month into writing a sci-fi story, another historical fantasy story was forcing its way into my mind.  After getting home from work the next day, the first post of ‘Sayeh and Zia’ went up.

Now, back to the modern day.  As you know, I have three projects on the go.  “True Love’s Last Kiss” is ongoing, “Achromatic” has stalled, and the “Lands of Infinia” collaborative project is ticking along.  There never seems enough hours in the day to dedicate to one story, as the others always try to get your attention, not unlike young children.

I taped a show that has just started, entitled “Walking Through History”.  The second episode had the host walking through the Lake District, in the English county of Cumbria.  A particular portion of the show dealt with when the Romans began moving up into the area, and to a degree with the then-resident tribe, the Brigantes.  To make it even more interesting, their ruler was a queen named Cartimandua.

Always a sucker for an empowered woman in novels, I did some digging through the Internet this morning.  The story surrounding Cartimandua and the Brigantes is even more interesting than it was before.  There is so much material that can be used and interpreted’.

Needless to say, there is a historical fiction novel to be written here.

As guilty as it makes me feel, I think “Achromatic” is going to be in the “WIP” section for a considerable amount of time, unless the Muse in their fits of erratic  attention returns me to them.

Keep an eye out for a new item in the “WIP” section =)

One response

  1. […] I mentioned some time ago, I have had the story based on Cartimandua, the Queen of the Brigantes, brewing away in the back of […]

Leave a Reply

