Defeating Writer’s Block 1: Write Sideways

Awesome advice! =)

Broken Mirrors

I’m going to do a few posts on how to defeat writer’s block. I have four or five already in mind, and I write this because recently it was a true issue that I had to fight through.

There’s a number of reasons for writer’s block. Children, too much alcohol, not enough alcohol, significant others, pets, an unruly character, a poorly developed [insert plot, character, setting], a computer that doesn’t work, fear of success, fear of failure, and I will promise you a hundred others I will never experience or understand, and a few hundred more you will never experience or understand. But they’re out there, and just like a traumatic moment with a child, it’s real to them and you should treat it as such.

The other day something horrible happened: a character went against me and changed his role in the story. This caused a block because, though…

View original post 414 more words

2 responses

  1. Thanks for the repost!

    1. My pleasure. It is good advice =)

Leave a Reply

