For Today’s “IN” Sound – 1967 Coral (Danelectro) Electric Sitar (model 3S18)

An article helping me to flesh out my NaNoWriMo world! Please watch the video of Mike playing; it is awesome =)

Drowning in Guitars!

(Scroll all the way down for the video demo!!!)

Yep, that’s what the ad in 1967 said, “Today’s ‘IN’ Sound”.  I wasn’t born until the 70s but I have to say if this was the “in” sound, then those were some groovin’ times, dig?  Sorry, I couldn’t help myself!  So buried in the Dano collection I find this electric Sitar.  I always knew Dano had this but I never really LOOKED at it.  I mean, it’s so interesting!  Like the Textured “Bombay Red” finish!  The odd shape!  Those extra strings!  Whaddya do with those?!?!  I cranked up the cameras and keyboard, and figured it was high time to shed some light on these scarce guitars, or should I say, Sitars!

The electric Coral Sitar was the first of it’s kind and came out of the Danelectro affiliation with Vincent Bell.  Remember that this was when MCA bought Danelectro and the…

View original post 686 more words

Leave a Reply

