Mum and Dad were right!

Hope you are all well, and 2016 has been treating you well =D

An unverified person (supposedly Twain) once said:

“When I was a boy of fourteen, my father was so ignorant I could hardly stand to have the old man around. But when I got to be twenty-one, I was astonished at how much he had learned in seven years.”

This has definitely proven true now that I’m in my early thirties. All those kernels of wisdom your parents bestowed in your early years, yet you brushed them off as the nonsense a non-fun-loving adult would spout to stop a kid having fun. The now-uncountable number of times I’ve used their words on my two young ones is just scary. Funny how ensuring their safety makes you a killjoy…

The other phrase that both parents said so often?

“Where does the time go?”

When your daily routine is so well-rehearsed, the days blend together in your memory, and it seems times flies by faster and faster. It seems to be the destiny of the ‘adult family person’, a seemingly endless loop that eventually blends into a unmemorable stretch.

Until something memorable breaks up the monotony.

It only took 2.5 months, but the writers block lifted for a brief moment. 885 words may not be much, especially considering my earlier days where I churned out most of ‘On Venusian Cloud Colony #9’ and ‘Sayeh and Zia’ concurrently, but it is epic after such a long period of silence from authorly motivation.

Here’s hoping it visits again soon, in between the work and the family time and the sport and all the other things life constantly throws at us =)

2 responses

  1. Hi, DJ! Long time no hear from (that’s another thing MY parents used to say, from the number of times they were too busy to be in touch with friends and some family members at a distance). I’ve still eagerly awaiting the finish to “Love’s Last Kiss,” which I don’t recall reading the end of. Anyway, I myself have only posted about 3 times since last September or October, mostly because I’ve been getting various crochet projects ready for people, and I’m miles behind getting all of that done. I’ve had a post in the works now for about a month and it’s still not finished, as well as having left off work on my 6th novel for about 8 or 9 months now. So you see, I can understand what you’re talking about. Anyway, keep in touch, write soon about what you’re up to so that all your readers can live a little vicariously (you know, it’s sort of funny about that word–living vicariously just means living second-hand, through someone else’s experience, but I just looked at it, and it strikes me that with that meaning in hand, it could also mean “living like a vicar,” i.e., through other people’s sins and peccadillos, while lecturing them on their shortcomings (he!he!). Take care!

  2. Heya Doc.
    Yes, Real World throwing plenty of stuff my way at the moment.
    – Contract extension at work
    – Playing Rugby again this year
    – Still with Writers’ Group.

    And still writing TLLK, no end in sight. Plan rejigged from a 7 chapter, 80 page story to 20 chapter, 230 page story. Adding a new Chapter 1 (Grace evading authorities to escape Sewthorn). Overall, up to 110 pages now.

    Hope you manage to catch up on the crocheting and writing. I fell far behind on Writers’ Group critiquing, took a week and half of my holidays to complete them all. Good luck! =)

Leave a Reply

